Reflections · Uncategorized

Eye Witnesses, reliable or not!

Link to exercise 1.1: Eye-witness

When I first looked at the photographs of the coloured man abusing a Jewish father and child I thought they were objective. But when I analysed the photos, and watched the video from which these photos were taken, I changed my mind.  Those four photographs do not tell the whole story, particularly when I heard the conversation.  I learnt that you cannot assume photographs are objective and accurate as this may no be the case.

I also learnt, from working on the images of HRH Andrew, Duke of York, that in some cases where the eye-witnesses are only the photographer and those in the image, it is very difficult to establish the reliability of the content of the image where the eye-witnesses differ in their recollection of the events at the time.

 

Leave a comment